Windsor MP continues to campaign against 3rd Runway at Heathrow

Adam Afriyie, the MP for Windsor, has attended the Annual General Meeting of the All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Heathrow Expansion.

APPGs are organisations run by MPs and Peers to represent specific sectors, issues and campaigns. They are required to reconstitute themselves every year through an annual general meeting and be open to Parliamentarians from all parties.

The APPG on Heathrow a cross-party group and chaired by Zac Goldsmith MP and includes representatives from Labour, the Liberal Democrats and the Green Party. It holds frequent meetings to scrutinise the impact of a 3rd Runway and organise the campaign against a 3rd Runway.


The MP for the Windsor constituency, Adam Afriyie welcomed the figures:

“I am extremely keen to continue my participation in this cross-party group where we are working together to stop this disastrous project for expansion at Heathrow.

“This judicial review is a real chance to stop a 3rd Runway at Heathrow, so it is essential that we highlight ways in which this disastrous project contradicts Government targets on climate change, air pollution and the Strategic Environmental Assessment Directive.

“The vote in Parliament was significant but it was quite clear that MPs were voting based on inadequate and misleading information and without the time to scrutinise the Government’s own figures, which contradicted what was said by the Minister

“I have campaigned tooth and nail against a 3rd Runway for over 15 years highlighting the mountain of evidence regarding the deleterious impact that it will have on the environment, on regional connections and on the public purse. It is simply the wrong decision for Windsor and the wider UK to create the most expensive and uncompetitive airport on earth”



Note to editors

1.   Adam Afriyie has campaigned against a 3rd Runway at Heathrow since he became an MP in 2005.

2.   He is the Prime Minister’s Trade Envoy to Ghana and Guinea.

3.   He is currently Chairman of the Fintech APPG, Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology (POST) and President of the Conservative Science and Technology Forum (CSTF).

4.   He was shadow Minister for Science from 2007-2010 and has a strong background in the information services and technology sector